Each day this week my news feed on Facebook has been filled with pictures of my friends’ smiling (some nervously, some happily, some forcibly) children starting their first day at school. They are dressed in pristine uniforms that dwarf their tiny frames and glisten with newness. Friday can not come quick enough. Not because I don’t want to see these gorgeous pictures and share in my friends’ delight but because Mr 5’s first day at school was not until Friday. I was bursting to pack his lunchbox and take that first day of school photo and share this huge milestone in his life.

On Monday the twins have daycare so it was just Mr 5 and I at home. He was happy to play with his toys and hang out watching a movie so I got busy in the kitchen. First up was a muesli recipe. Mr Goodie asked me a little while ago to make one for him and when one of my friends asked if I knew a recipe for a breakfast muesli that had cinnamon flavours I had a wonderful (if I do say so myself) idea. I decided to create a breakfast muesli based on the flavours of the classic dessert – Apple Crumble. I already had decided that a would make try out a recipe for Cinnamon Apple Crisps and I thought they would be a great inclusion.

I do not usually eat cereal for breakfast but I had some to test and I am very happy with it to say the least. Mr Goodie pronounced it ‘lovely’ which is fine praise indeed.


blog-4

Apple Crumble Muesli

Ingredients:

2 cups rolled oats
1/2 cup sliced almonds
1/2 cup shredded coconut
1/2 cup Cinnamon Apple Crisps (or store brought dried/dehydrated apple)
1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon
1/2 cup coconut oil melted
2 tablespoons maple syrup
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Method:

Preheat oven to 150c

Mix rolled oats, almonds and cinnamon together in large bowl then add coconut oil, maple syrup and vanilla extract and mix well ensuring all dry ingredients have been coated.

Spread out on lined baking tray and cook for 10 minutes. Remove pan tray from oven and stir then return to oven for a further 10 minutes. Stir through shredded coconut and return to the oven for a further 2 minutes.

Remove from oven and stir through dried apple and allow mixture to cool in pan before storing in an airtight container. Will store for at least one week.


If you really wanted to bump up the apple flavour you could add stewed apple on top or even fresh apple for more crunch. cookies

I also continued stocking the freezer with baking so I have lots of goodies for school lunches. My attempt at Pineapple Fruit Leather was not successful at all but when I master the art I will share with you. I did have a win with these Chocolate Chip Cookies. They are sooo good. Seriously. I’ve been sneaking out to the freezer all week to eat them.

Throughout the week I also tried out a number of ‘dip’ recipes with the kiddies. Mr 5 is not a huge fan of dips but Mr and Miss 17 months adore them. They love the fun of dipping veggies and crackers into the dip and it is a great way to introduce a variety of vegetables and also have veggies at snack time. This week they have tried avocado and coriander dip, tzatziki and tuna dip.

On Thursday it was Australia Day and we were invited to a friend’s house for lunch. I volunteered to make desert and after much thought I decided Nigella’s Lemon Pavlova would be perfect.

blog2

It was. Very light in the middle but crunchy on the outside and the lemon and roasted sliced almonds were a gorgeous accompaniment. Make it, for no other occasion that you just need some pav in your life.

Friday morning finally arrived and it was the fastest I had ever seen Mr 5 eat his breakfast and get dressed. So much so that he spent the best part of an hour and a half lying on the floor waiting until it was time to go.

blog1

For Mr 5’s first school lunch I packed for him a ham, lettuce & cream cheese wrap, cheese and crackers and a chocolate chip cookie. I also included veggie dippers (celery, capsicum, carrots and cherry tomatoes) with a corn and spring onion dip, and some watermelon. Just in case I also packed a banana (not pictured). He ate everything except the veggies and dip but I am hopeful one day he will when he is hungry enough!

Mr 5 seems to have enjoyed his first day at school but it’s like trying to get blood out of a stone to get information from him. Honestly, I think parents of school aged children should be given free interrogation courses. I’m sure it will be helpful. His teacher said he was ‘delightful’ and Mr 5 said he is looking forward to going back Monday so I am going to say it all went well.

So now it is Sunday afternoon and I have planned out the week’s school lunchboxes and meals and I am looking forward to sharing some of this with you next week! Hope you all have a great week!

social-006-round_facebook social-038-round_instagram social-033-round_pinterest

